Close this search box.

Fair Housing

Fair housing laws ensure that everyone in the United States is protected against unlawful discrimination in housing related transactions.
Play Video

What is Fair Housing?

The Fair Housing Act was enacted with the understanding that some social markers are stigmatized and prevent qualified groups of people from accessing the housing of their choice. The seven federally protected classes are race, religion, national origin, color, familial status, sex, and disability.  

These classes or characteristics are protected under the federal Fair Housing Act. Most homes are covered under the Fair Housing Act with few exceptions. The types of housing that are covered include apartments, private homes, nursing homes, dormitories, mobile home parks, homeless shelters, and many other dwellings. This means that discrimination during the rental process, the home purchase process, and other housing-related transactions such as appraisals, homeowners insurance, and mortgage lending are illegal.

Fair Housing Laws

Fair housing laws protect all people seeking housing. This includes renters, homebuyers and people obtaining a mortgage or homeowners insurance. Federal, state and local fair housing laws guarantee that regardless of someone’s race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status or disability, they can choose the housing that’s best for them.


Fair Housing Topics

Browse the most popular fair housing topics to learn about your rights as a housing consumer or your compliance responsibilities as a housing provider.

Learn more about the Housing Equality Center of Pennsylvania